Kentucky Nursing CE Courses
Last updated Mar 1, 2026
Kentucky Nursing Continuing Education Requirements
RN Requirements
- 14 hrs OR approved alternative of continuing education each renewal period
- RN/
- Alzheimer’s disease and other forms of Dementia, domestic violence, pediatric abusive head trauma, suicide prevention, and LPN infusion therapy. These are one-time requirements, when required must be completed within 3 years of licensure, and once completed do not need to be retaken. Hour counts are not stated on this page.
LPN Requirements
- 14 hrs OR approved alternative of continuing education each renewal period
- LPN: Annual renewal cycle, generally November 1 through October 31.
- Alzheimer’s disease and other forms of Dementia, domestic violence, pediatric abusive head trauma, suicide prevention, and LPN infusion therapy. These are one-time requirements, when required must be completed within 3 years of licensure, and once completed do not need to be retaken. Hour counts are not stated on this page.
APRN Requirements
- 14 RN CE hours may be satisfied through national APRN certification of continuing education for advanced practice nurses
- Renewal cycle: 1 year
- Pharmacology: 5 Pharmacology
- Required topic: Pharmacology; pain/addiction component for applicable APRNs
Show me the course list for my licence

Kentucky RN required courses
14 contact hours in this list, included with your yearly pass. Always confirm with your board before you renew.
This board names no specific required topic for RNs — any of our courses count toward your hours.
Elective courses
Pick from these to finish your hours. Every one is included with the yearly pass.
4 contact hoursA practical nursing overview of muscular dystrophies, with emphasis on recognition, diagnosis, Duchenne care, complication surveillance, and interdisciplinary management.
2 contact hoursBuild nursing skills for recognizing, evaluating, treating, and supporting people across the Alzheimer’s disease continuum using person-centered orientation and reminiscence approaches.
3 contact hoursAfter completing this course, the nurse will be able to connect psychotropic medication mechanisms with indications, expected responses, common adverse effects, and urgent safety concerns.
2 contact hoursThe skin limits fluid loss, regulates temperature, supports sensation and immune surveillance, and protects deeper structures from mechanical, chemical, thermal, and microbial injury. A wound compromises these functions. This course classifies common acute and chronic wounds, explains overlapping phases of tissue repair, and identifies local or systemic findings that require escalation.
2 contact hoursAfter completing this course, nurses will be able to distinguish organ donation from tissue donation, explain living and deceased donation pathways, and describe current standards for determining death by neurologic or circulatory criteria.
1 contact hoursRecognize workplace sexual harassment, respond safely, document objectively, report through appropriate channels, and protect patients and colleagues from retaliation.
Kentucky nursing CE questions
Straight from the Kentucky board
- Renewal period
- RN/LPN: Annual renewal cycle, generally November 1 through October 31.
- RN requirement
- 14/year
- LPN / LVN requirement
- 14/year
- Mandatory topics
- Alzheimer’s disease and other forms of Dementia, domestic violence, pediatric abusive head trauma, suicide prevention, and LPN infusion therapy. These are one-time requirements, when required must be completed within 3 years of licensure, and once completed do not need to be retaken. Hour counts are not stated on this page.
- Required courses
- RN/LPN: 14 contact hours annually, including applicable suicide-prevention and implicit-bias training. Kentucky also has one-time requirements concerning domestic violence and pediatric abusive head trauma. The exact applicability/timing should be retained when presenting the course requirements. Source: Kentucky Board of Nursing.
- Good to know
- Kentucky requires nurses to meet the Board's annual continuing-education requirement, with certain mandatory topics and special/one-time requirements. Do not describe the requirement as simply 14 generic hours without the mandatory-topic details. Source: Kentucky Board of Nursing.
- Advanced practice CE
- 14 RN CE hours may be satisfied through national APRN certification
- Renewal period
- 1 year
- Pharmacology
- 5 pharmacology contact hours. 5 Pharmacology
- Who it applies to
- All APRNs
- Controlled substances / opioids
- Yes for applicable DEA/KASPER APRNs
- Pain and opioid content
- Yes — pain management/addiction disorders for applicable APRNs
- Prescriptive authority
- Yes
- Who approves the course
- Kentucky Board of Nursing (KBN), another state BON, or recognized national nursing organization
- Accepted providers
- KBN; another state BON; recognized national nursing organizations including ANCC, AANP, AANA, AACN, ACNM, NAPNAP, NPWH, etc.
Source citation pending admin review (placeholder). Reviewed Mar 1, 2026. User self-report (confirm with Board)
Still have a question?
Ask about requirements, a course, pricing or your license. Answers come from our own course list and state notes.
Answers come from Fast CE For Less's own course list and our notes on state requirements. Always check your board's own rules before you count hours.
