Web Analytics
DECEMBER DEAL! GET YOUR 10% DISCOUNT ON THE ALL ACCESS PASS FOR ONLY $27.00 NOW! USE COUPON CODE: DEC10%22

Board of Nurses Continuing Education Requirements

Fast CE For Less online nursing CE courses are created with nursing best practices to help nurses build upon their knowledge with ease. All CE courses meet State Board of Nursing requirements. Fast CE For Less is approved to provide continuing education courses in all states and US territories. Register at www.fastceforless.com

Alabama

First renewal 

  • 4 contact hours of Alabama Board-provided continuing education related to Board functions, the Nurse Practice the Act, regulations, professional conduct, and accountability 

Every two years 

  • 24 hours of continuing education 

Alaska

RN and LPN must complete two of the following methods to maintain continuing competency:

  • 30 contact hours of continuing education
  • 60 hours of participation in uncompensated professional activities
  • 320 hours of employment as an RN or LPN

Arizona

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of Arizona, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com.

Arkansas

Every two years

  • 15 hours of continuing education including:
    • 15 contact hours of appropriately accredited practice-focused activities, or (2) Hold a current nationally recognized certification/recertification, or (3) Completed a minimum of one college credit hour course in nursing with a grade of C or better during licensure period. Reinstatement from inactive status/late renewals of less than five years must complete 20 contact hours of appropriately accredited activities.

California

Every two years 

  • 30 hours of continuing education 

Colorado

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of Colorado, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at  www.fastceforless.com.

Connecticut

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of Connecticut, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com.

Delaware

Every two years 

  • 30 hours of continuing education including:
    • 30 hours every two years (after first renewal). Renewal requires attestation of CE completion and practice of at least 1,000 hours in the past five years or 400 hours in the past two years.
    • SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS- All RNs must complete three hours of CE in substance abuse.

District of Columbia

Every two years

  • 24 hours of continuing education including:
    • 3 hours on HIV/Aids
    • 2 hours on cultural competency focusing on patients who identify as LGBTQ topics

Florida

Every two years 

  • 24 hours of continuing education, including the following Florida Board approved courses:
    • 2 hours on the laws and rules that govern the practice of nursing in Florida
    • 2 hours related to medical error prevention
    • 2 hours related to human trafficking

Initial renewal 

  • 1 hour related to HIV/AIDS

Every four years 

  • 2 hours related to recognizing impairment in the workplace

Each third renewal period 

  • 3 hours related to domestic violence

Georgia

Every two years

  • 30 hours of continuing education

Hawaii

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of Hawaii, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com

Idaho

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of Idaho, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com

Illinois

Every two years 

  • 20 hours of continuing education including:
    • 1 hour in sexual harassment training

Indiana

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of Indiana, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com.  

Iowa

Every three years 

  • 36 hours of continuing education including:
    • 1 hour of continuing education related to the identification and reporting of child/dependent adult abuse (for those who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat dependent adults or children). This course MUST be taken through the Iowa Department of Public Health.

Kansas

Every two years

  • 30 hours of continuing education

Kentucky

Every year 

  • 14 hours of continuing education, including:  
    • 3 hours related to domestic violence (one-time requirement). Retain documentation until retirement.
    • 1.5 hours on pediatric abusive head trauma (one-time requirement). Retain documentation until retirement.

Louisiana

Every year 

  • 5 hours for RNs who practiced nursing 1600 hours (or more) within the calendar year
  • 10 hours for RNs who practiced nursing at least 160 hours during the calendar year
  • 15 hours for RNs who practiced nursing less than 160 hours during the calendar year

Maine

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of Maine, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com.  

Maryland

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of Maryland, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com.   

Massachusetts

Every two years 

  • 15 hours of continuing education
    • 1 hour must address Chapter 260 requirements for Sexual and/or Domestic Violence through Massachusetts Board.

Michigan

Every two years 

  • 25 hours of continuing education including:
    • 2 hours in pain and pain symptom management
    • One-time training course in Human trafficking

Minnesota

Every two years 

  • 24 hours of continuing education 

Mississippi

Every two years, starting with 2021 renewal cycle  

  • 20 hours of continuing education

Missouri

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of Missouri, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com.    

Montana

Every two years 

  • 24 hours of continuing education

Nebraska

Every two years 

  • 20 hours of continuing education and 500 hours of practiced nursing during the past five years.

Nevada

Every two years

  • 30 hours of continuing education including:
    • 4 hours relating to the medical consequences of an act of bioterrorism/terrorism that involves the use of a weapon of mass destruction.
    • 2 hours relating to cultural competency, diversity, equity, and inclusion.

New Hampshire

Every two years 

  • 30 hours of continuing education

New Jersey

Every two years 

  • 30 hours of continuing education including:  
    • 1 hour concerning prescription opioid drugs, including alternatives to opioids for managing and treating pain, and the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion

New Mexico

Every two years 

  • 30 hours of continuing education

New York

Child Abuse: New York Mandatory Reported Training

  • 2 hours of continuing education

Infection Control and Barrier Precautions

  • 4 hours of continuing education

North Carolina

Every two years

  • 30 hours of continuing education

North Dakota

Every two years

  • 12 hours of continuing education

Ohio

Every two years

  • 24 hours of continuing education
  • 1 hour related to Chapter 4723 of the Ohio Nurse Practice Code and Rules (Category A)

Oklahoma

Every two years

  • 24 hours of continuing education

Oregon

Every two years

  • 7 hours of continuing education in Pain Management for 1st renewal. 
  • 1 hour through Oregon Pain Management Commission

Pennsylvania

Every two years 

  • 30 hours of continuing education, including:
    • 2 hours of approved training on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting

Puerto Rico

Every two years

  • 30 hours of continuing education-only 20 hours can be on-line
  • 3 hours of Infection Control that includes HIV, Hepatitis, and TB

Rhode Island

Every two years 

  • 10 hours of continuing education including:
  • 2 hours on substance abuse

South Carolina

Every two years 

  • 30 hours of continuing education

South Dakota

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of South Dakota, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com.   

Tennessee

Every two years 

  • 5 hours of continuing education (10 hours if not currently practicing)

Texas

Every two years 

  • 20 hours of continuing education in area of practice
  • 2 contact hours related to geriatric care for those who work with older adults

Every six years 

  • 2 hours related to nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics 

Utah

Every two years

  • 30 hours of continuing education
    • 15 hours of continuing education; or 200 practice hours

Virgin Islands

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of the Virgin Islands, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com.

Virginia

Every two years

  • 30 continuing education hours
  • 15 continuing education hours plus 640 active practice hours

Washington State

Every year

  • 8 hours continuing education including:
    • One time 6-hour suicide prevention course

West Virgina

Every two years

  • 12 continuing education hours including:
    • 2 hours of CE for mental health conditions common to veterans and their families annually
    • 4 hours initially and then 1 hour thereafter annually of CE for best prescribing and drug diversion training if you prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances.

Wisconsin

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of Wisconsin, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com.  

Wyoming

30 continuing education hours or
15 continuing education hours plus 200 hours of employment or 
400 hours of employment

Canada

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the Provinces of Canada and its territories, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com.   

Guam

NO CEU REQUIREMENT
As a nurse in the state of Guam, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. But, for your continued professional development needs, please explore courses offered at www.fastceforless.com

All Access Pass

Unlimited access for 1 year
$59
$ 29
99
Onetime Fee
  • Full Access to All Courses
  • Meets All States Requirements
  • Bundled CE Courses
  • Fast Facts
  • Optional Pre & Post-Tests
  • Instant Certificate
  • Unlimited CE Courses for 1 Year
  • No Automatic Renewal
Secured

Choose Your State

View Other CE Courses

Our Recent Posts

SHARE IT WITH OTHERS

Not Ready to Enroll yet?

Start with 100% Free Nursing CEU Courses

Click on the following button to gain instant access to your 100% FREE – no obligation – Nursing CEU Courses Today: