Listen to this page

Iowa Nursing CE Courses

Last updated Mar 1, 2026

Iowa Nursing Continuing Education Requirements

RN Requirements

  • 36 hrs of continuing education each renewal period
  • two-year license renewal period
  • Mandatory Reporters of Child & Adult Abuse - Required Course (hour count not stated)

LPN Requirements

  • 36 hrs of continuing education each renewal period
  • two-year license renewal period
  • Mandatory Reporters of Child & Adult Abuse - Required Course (hour count not stated)

APRN Requirements

  • None identified as a separate APRN-specific CE total in the source reviewed
  • Renewal cycle: 3 years
  • Pharmacology: None identified
  • Required topic: None identified

Show me the course list for my licence

A South Asian woman nurse in navy scrubs smiling as she talks with an older patient in a clinic room

Iowa RN required courses

36 contact hours in this list, included with your yearly pass. Always confirm with your board before you renew.

This board names no specific required topic for RNs — any of our courses count toward your hours.

Elective courses

Pick from these to finish your hours. Every one is included with the yearly pass.

A registered nurse calmly reviews a visual care plan with an autistic patient in a quiet examination room while communication and sensory supports remain within reach.4 contact hours
Behavioral Health

Build practical nursing skills for recognizing autism, supporting assessment, adapting care, managing health needs, and partnering with autistic people and families across the lifespan.

Updated Sep 19, 2026
$20.00($5 per contact hour) or included with All-AccessView course
A registered nurse assesses the breathing pattern and oxygen saturation of an older adult with COPD seated upright in a bright outpatient clinical room.4 contact hours
Clinical Practice

Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, or COPD, is a heterogeneous lung condition marked by persistent respiratory symptoms and airflow obstruction. The underlying abnormalities may involve the conducting airways, terminal bronchioles, alveoli, pulmonary vessels, or a combination of these structures.

Updated Sep 19, 2026
$20.00($5 per contact hour) or included with All-AccessView course
Two registered nurses at an acute-care bedside independently compare a labeled blood component, the patient’s identification band, and transfusion documentation before administration.5 contact hours
Clinical Practice

Build safe, evidence-based practice for selecting, verifying, administering, monitoring, and responding to transfusions of blood components.

Updated Sep 19, 2026
$25.00($5 per contact hour) or included with All-AccessView course
An oncology nurse and adult patient reviewing a breast cancer care plan together in a private clinical setting, with diagnostic images displayed in the background.3 contact hours
Clinical Practice

Evidence-based nursing care for breast cancer screening, diagnosis, staging, treatment, symptom management, survivorship, recurrence, and metastatic disease.

Updated Sep 19, 2026
$15.00($5 per contact hour) or included with All-AccessView course
A registered nurse performs a focused hand and wrist joint assessment on an adult patient in a bright outpatient examination room, observing swelling and range of motion.4 contact hours
Clinical Practice

After completing this course, nurses will be able to distinguish common arthritic and arthritis-associated conditions using symptom patterns, examination findings, laboratory data, imaging, and synovial fluid results.

Updated Sep 19, 2026
$20.00($5 per contact hour) or included with All-AccessView course
Two nurses and an adult patient seated in a private clinical consultation, reviewing care choices together with attentive, respectful communication.10 contact hours
Law & Ethics

Apply current nursing ethics codes, structured reasoning, informed consent standards, advocacy practices, and professional accountability to common clinical dilemmas.

Updated Sep 19, 2026
$29.99($5 per contact hour) or included with All-AccessView course
A registered nurse and patient from different backgrounds discussing a care plan with a qualified interpreter in a private, accessible clinical room.4 contact hours
Cultural Competency

Build practical skills in cultural humility, bias mitigation, language access, inclusive assessment, and equitable nursing care across diverse populations.

Updated Sep 19, 2026
$20.00($5 per contact hour) or included with All-AccessView course
Critical care nurse and organ procurement coordinator reviewing a potential donor’s clinical information beside an intensive care monitor while maintaining patient privacy.2 contact hours
Clinical Practice

After completing this course, nurses will be able to distinguish organ donation from tissue donation, explain living and deceased donation pathways, and describe current standards for determining death by neurologic or circulatory criteria.

Updated Sep 19, 2026
$10.00($5 per contact hour) or included with All-AccessView course
Browse every course for this state

Iowa nursing CE questions

Straight from the Iowa board

What the board publishes
Verified Sep 21, 2026
Renewal period
two-year license renewal period
RN requirement
36/3 yrs
LPN / LVN requirement
36/3 yrs
Mandatory topics
Mandatory Reporters of Child & Adult Abuse - Required Course (hour count not stated)
Required courses
RN: 36 CE hours every 3 years, including applicable child/dependent-adult abuse training. LPN: 36 CE hours every 3 years, including applicable child/dependent-adult abuse training. The abuse course must meet Iowa's statutory/provider requirements. Source: Iowa Board of Nursing.
Good to know
Iowa requires 36 hours of continuing education during each 3-year license period. In addition, nurses who are subject to Iowa's mandatory abuse-training requirement must complete the applicable child/dependent-adult abuse education. The exact applicability depends on the nurse's practice. Source: Iowa Board of Nursing.
Iowa Board of Nursing
APRN, NP, CRNA and CNM requirements
Verified Sep 15, 2026
Advanced practice CE
None identified as a separate APRN-specific CE total in the source reviewed
Renewal period
3 years
Pharmacology
None identified
Who it applies to
APRNs
Controlled substances / opioids
None identified
Pain and opioid content
None identified
Prescriptive authority
None identified
Who approves the course
Iowa Board of Nursing
Accepted providers
Licensees select CE that meets Iowa's current nursing CE standards

Source citation pending admin review (placeholder). Reviewed Mar 1, 2026. User self-report (confirm with Board)

Still have a question?

Ask about requirements, a course, pricing or your license. Answers come from our own course list and state notes.

Ask about your license or a course

Answers come from Fast CE For Less's own course list and our notes on state requirements. Always check your board's own rules before you count hours.